Random Monday

Ventured out into the newest snowstorm this morning – what an experience! I’m driving a borrowed car from a very generous friend so I can get back and forth to the grocery store, church and get my wild man from school if necessary. However, though it is 10 years old, it’s a fabulous Mercedes in great condition and I’m scared to death to damage it! What a lovely car! Yet driving it in a snowstorm was a bit knuckle-biting! I am so grateful to my friends for their extreme kindness in loaning us this car for a bit. I loaded up on groceries and got my Dad out into some fresh, snowy air in the process.

I kept to the outside aisles this morning in a concerted effort to find better foods for my family. Lots of fresh greens, harvested in the US, and some fruits that are not. I have guilt over purchasing grapes from Chile! I did my best to stick with organic, local and US products but with a limited budget (yes, I am on SNAP) I need to be careful that I stick to the list so I have enough funds each week to make healthy lunches, snacks and meals for my hardworking men.

On a side note, I would like to speak up for those of us on SNAP (food stamps). We are much maligned and cursed in media outlets like facebook and twitter. There is a disturbing prejudice attached to being on state assistance that just isn’t right. While I admit there are those who do abuse the system, there are many more who are in desperate need of it! My husband, who is an extremely capable man, is doing everything he can to support our family. He is college educated and has a strong work ethic, yet he is doing manual labor for a small company for little money, barely enough to pay bills. He WANTS to work yet there is nothing to be found. It’s no longer desirable to simply have the will to work and learn an occupation. Hubby has filled out many applications with no luck so he sticks with his current job because he refuses to lay down and give up. And in many respects, he is lucky to be where he is – his boss is a good Christian man also with a strong work ethic and because he is a small business owner, he has his own family to provide for. So, yes, we are on food stamps and I am not ashamed. Just because we are on food stamps does not mean we have to sacrifice good, healthy, nutritious foods for processed white bread and canned tuna. Seriously???!!! That makes me SO very angry! Do not judge someone until you have walked a mile or two in their shoes. You never know who you are insulting when you post degrading comments or snide remarks on your facebook or twitter accounts.

I’m off my soapbox now.

Matthew 7

The Message (MSG)

A Simple Guide for Behavior

1-5 “Don’t pick on people, jump on their failures, criticize their faults— unless, of course, you want the same treatment. That critical spirit has a way of boomeranging. It’s easy to see a smudge on your neighbor’s face and be oblivious to the ugly sneer on your own. Do you have the nerve to say, ‘Let me wash your face for you,’ when your own face is distorted by contempt? It’s this whole traveling road-show mentality all over again, playing a holier-than-thou part instead of just living your part. Wipe that ugly sneer off your own face, and you might be fit to offer a washcloth to your neighbor.

“Don’t be flip with the sacred. Banter and silliness give no honor to God. Don’t reduce holy mysteries to slogans. In trying to be relevant, you’re only being cute and inviting sacrilege.

7-11 “Don’t bargain with God. Be direct. Ask for what you need. This isn’t a cat-and-mouse, hide-and-seek game we’re in. If your child asks for bread, do you trick him with sawdust? If he asks for fish, do you scare him with a live snake on his plate? As bad as you are, you wouldn’t think of such a thing. You’re at least decent to your own children. So don’t you think the God who conceived you in love will be even better?

12 “Here is a simple, rule-of-thumb guide for behavior: Ask yourself what you want people to do for you, then grab the initiative and do it for them. Add up God’s Law and Prophets and this is what you get.

God Bless and have a safe day!

 

Leave a Reply

