Day 17

I’ve been slacking in updating and I apologize!  This week has been especially difficult for me in sticking with the fast.  My idolization of food is so deeply ingrained it’s become part of my very skin.  It’s part of who I am – I can define myself with the food I create and eat and the enemy is using it to throw me into a tailspin!  I’d reached the point where I felt like I didn’t want to go on anymore and then, all praises to God – it is through Him these things happen, I became re-energized!  It took reading the last few days devotionals in our study book and the first few chapters of the Book of James along with an inspirational women’s study to do it. 

And, I’m blessed to have a bunch of ladies praying for me and this journey I’m on – they are convinced I can do it and that I’ll be changed as a result.  Because this is the key to what we’re doing, you know!  Being changed.

James asks us what good is our faith if we don’t follow it up with action.  (James 2:14-26) He challenges us to walk the walk and talk the talk.  We need to take what we’re learning on this fast and make important changes with it.  If that means changes in our lifestyle or eating habits, that’s great!  It could mean changes in the products we buy, including food – paying attention to how it’s made and harvested.  It could be changing our attitude on human trafficking and causing us to speak up about it.  But if we just read this study (A Place at the Table) without asking God to work within us and change us from the core, then we’re like James 2:26 “As the body without the spirit is dead, so faith without deeds is dead.”

Are you hitting a rut this week?  This is the time it happens – we get discouraged eating the same thing day after day…..wait a minute, isn’t that what’s supposed to happen?  You mean I’m supposed to feel like this because this is what is connecting me to those around the world who face the same things each day, too?  Huh!  YES, a profound YES, we ARE supposed to feel this way!  We are supposed to be feeling humbled by our surroundings, embarrassed even, at the bounty laid out before us!  We only have 20 or so days left on our lenten fast – 90% of the world doesn’t have a choice!

Soldier on people!  I’m right there with you and even when I slip up (which is more often than I care to admit) I’ll simply ask God to stiffen my resolve and remind me of what breaks His heart.  I pray He changes me from the inside out, right down to my hands and feet. 

Glorious Father, Maker of all, I praise you!  In the midst of my temptation, I hold fast to You, grasping with my fingertips at the only One who can save me.  On my own, I fail every day, I am broken and used up.  I pray You take my shattered pieces, wash them in Your Holy Spirit and shape me into one who reflects Your glory, one who will gladly respond, “I am here, Lord!”  Help me find joy is this process of discovery, to continue knowing it’s NOT about me or my journey.  It’s about YOU and raising awareness of what’s happening around the world.  I pray for Your wisdom for I’m lacking.  In the name of the Lord Jesus Christ, our Glory, Amen.

Image

Leave a Reply

