Calorimetry

Calorimetry is an interesting word.  I didn’t know what it meant until I looked it up on Wikipedia!  It’s also the name of a pattern I’ve been working on and when you look up the meaning of the word and relate it to the object being knit, it actually makes sense.  I’m not a physicist or mathematician so this word strangles me every time I try to say it and I get funny looks when someone asks me what I am knitting and this is what I reply…so I figured it was time to know what the word really meant!  The long and short of it is, it’s a knitted head scarf done using short row shaping that naturally allows for buttonholes.  I’m almost done but this is a peek at what it looks like on the needles:

If you look carefully you can see the patterning showing the rounded shape.  It’s a fun knit and I’ll be sure to get a finished photo so you can see how it fits the head.  In the meantime you can find it here on Ravelry.

I’m also excited to start perusing my new Johnny’s Selected Seeds catalog!

So many wonderful heirloom style seeds!  I need to start planning my garden now so I can prepare for it when the time comes.  Unfortunately it’s snowing out so my dreams of an early Spring need to be postponed for a little while yet!  My dad always does a large garden plot but I think this year will mark the end to that.  He’s turning 81 in a week and has just informed me that he might have to start using a cane.  He’s totally bummed about it – he’s been self-reliant and healthy as a horse up til now.  So I think it’s time hubby and I took the reins.  Not sure how hubby will feel about that!  My city boy 🙂  The wild man will be excited to help plant and mark the seed rows.  I think we’ll be fine this year.  I’m thinking some tomatoes, lettuce, zucchini, salad cukes, bush beans, red bell peppers, garlic, onion, broccoli – I’ll try carrots again and radish and just for the little man, corn 🙂  I have to read through the catalog and see if there’s anything new to try!

We’re doing a 90 day growth challenge at church this quarter and I decided to see if I could do it.  I’m reading Deuteronomy – I don’t think I’ve ever read it through before.  The earlier books of Moses are filled with familiar stories and I’ll reread them at some point but for now I wanted something new.

The challenge will be to “explore faith and God, grow in my commitment to church and Christ, and live curiously for Christ by a) reading my Bible everyday, b) attending church every week and assisting my small group leader, c) serving as a ministry team leader, d) tithing weekly and meeting weekly Global Outreach goal, e) praying everyday, and f) practice SOAP journaling at least 3x a week.”  I cobbled these goals from the ones listed in our church program – I felt it needed to be more me.  I tend to be really good at the research and reading part of the goal but lack severely in the “everyday” part of it!  Also, the prayer bit.  I don’t know why it’s so hard for me to pray.  To be honest, I feel awkward and silly.  I know I shouldn’t and I am trying hard to work on it but for now it’s really difficult!  I’m learning to recognize how it’s fear based and pride based, too.  The fear is giving up the control I imagine I have over my life.  The pride is how I’ve always felt I can do it on my own.  I know I can’t and I need Christ’s strength and love in my life.  But it’s hard to change 40 years of thinking!  So I’ve started writing small prayers in my journal.  I’m using the SOAP method – scripture, observe, apply, pray – to help me.  For example, today I read Deuteronomy 5, 6 & 7.  My journal looks like this:

6:7 “Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.”

Verse 6 says to keep God’s commandments “upon your hearts.” We are to teach our children in every way and in every circumstance  to love God with “all our heart, all our soul and all our strength.”  This is the greatest commandment – to love God.  We need to use our lives to reflect this love so our children can see that we live what we teach.

Hubby and I need to apply this to our son.  To remember to teach him to love God best, no matter what.  All places and all times can be used to express and teach that love.

Father, help us shape and mold our son to be a God fearing, respectful and loving man.  Help us encourage him and teach him to follow Your will for him.  Help us be examples of Your love and not fall prey to our own frustrations.  In Christs Name, Amen

I need it to be simple for now.  I’m already adding more sentences and I think I’ll be doing paragraphs for each section before long!  I need to work my way into it – focus on one thing at a time instead of floundering around.

My women’s group leadership team met yesterday and we had the most productive session ever!  We have so much to share with our group and this visioning meeting has really helped formulate our goals and objectives for the next several years.  We want to focus our energies into empowerment and community action and showing God’s extraordinary love for all of us.  We want to reflect Him – show our community we are His hands and feet, be transparent and promote curiosity!  I’m so excited for what’s going to happen!  I have no doubt God has something special planned for all of us!

I’ll leave you with that thought and with a typical photo of my men at bedtime! Gotta love snuggle time!

XOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXO

Leave a Reply

